Related institutions/Events

Swathi Thirunal Music Academi
Sree Swathi Thirunal College of Music


Swathi Thirunal College of Music, Thiruvananthapuram started in the year of 1939 first named as The Music Academy for giving refresher courses to music teachers of the Travancore state. The primary objective of this venture was to popularize the kritits of Maharaja Sri. Swathi Thirunal. This institution from the date of its inception has produced a lot of talented artists who have contributed much to the realm of Carnatic music.

The administration of the institution was under the control of the royalty earlier. The institution was renamed as  Sree Swathi Thirunal College of Music in 1962. Situated at the heart of the capital city, the institution is one of the prestigious and well managed music institutes of South India.


Earlier, a three-year certificate course in Music - “Gayaka and Gayika” for male and female students respectively was provided in the Institute. In 1961, a committee, which included eminent musicians and music educators like Mrs. Lekshmi Narayanan Nair, Sri. Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer, Dr. Musuri Subrahmanya Iyer and Prof. P. Sambamurthy constituted by the Government of Kerala prepared a comprehensive curriculum and syllabus for the course in this institution. Later “Ganabhooshanam and Ganapraveen”, (four year Diploma course) were introduced. The college was affiliated to the University of Kerala in 1999 and a unique course Bachelor in Performing Arts was initiated.

Presently the college has entered new avenues, announcing 8 new courses as part of continuing education. The courses are meant for those who have an aptitude in learning music, those who would like to go for advanced studies in group kritis, ragamalikas, and ragam-tanam-pallavis and for those who are interested in music direction.

Eminent Principals and Students of the College

Late Dr. L. Muttayyah Bhagavathar was the founder Principal of this esteemed music institution. He was replaced by the great Carnatic Music prodigy the late Sri. Semmangudi R. Srinivasa Iyer. G. N. Balasubrahmaniam, Vechur N. Hari Hara Subrahmania Iyer have also served as the eminent heads of this organization. K. Vasantha Kumari is at present the Principal of this institution.

Dr.K.J.Yesudas, Neyyatinkara Vasudevan, Dr. K. Omanakutty, Chalakkudy Narayana Swami, Pudukkode Krishna Murthy, Mavelikkara Prabhakara Verma, Velukkutty Nair, M. G. Radhakrishnan, Raveendaran (Music Director) and Parassala Ravi are some of the illustrious students of this institution. New talents like Kallara Gopan and Panthalam Balan were also the products of this college.

Copy Right 2003 , All Rights Reserved, Designed and Maintained by C-DIT ,